MEMBER ITEMS FOR SALE
Custom Knives | Other Knives | General Items
-------------------------------------------

Go Back   The Knife Network Forums : Knife Making Discussions > Custom Knife Discussion Boards > Knife Making Discussions > The Newbies Arena

The Newbies Arena Are you new to knife making? Here is all the help you will need.

Old 12-02-2007, 11:01 PM
Steel Addict

handle material

i am going back and forth between ironwood or a stabilized wood for a handle.....i love the look of each..for different reasosn..i am very new to knife making..is either easier to work with/finish?....knife is a 7 3/4 inch hunting fixed blade. not used in wet or salty/humid areas...
Old 12-02-2007, 11:37 PM
Skilled

i love ironwood,,however it will oxidize,,,so if the piece you have is extreamly dark to begin with it will only darken more. (it still looks great and will last for a thousand years)

properly stabilized wood can be dipped in burnt motor oil,,wiped clean and no stains,,

it comes down to what you like best,,,make two,,use them both lol.
good luck
Old 12-02-2007, 11:43 PM
Steel Addict

haha that is a good idea..........hmmmm....
Old 12-02-2007, 11:43 PM
Super Moderator

I don't think one is harder than the other, but they are different. The obvious choice here is to make 2 knives.

If you look around this forum awhile, you'll see that there are many different materials and styles used. What stands out is not so much the material, but the workmanship and artistry that goes into making the knife. Some knives are complicated and difficult - or at least the process is complicated. For what you are talking about, don't focus on how hard it is, just on the time you take laying out the project and then the loving care you use in getting it done.

Old 12-03-2007, 09:26 AM
Founding Member / Moderator