MEMBER ITEMS FOR SALE
Custom Knives | Other Knives | General Items
-------------------------------------------

Go Back   The Knife Network Forums : Knife Making Discussions > Community Discussion Boards > Knife Network Community > The Watering Hole

The Watering Hole Weekends, girlfriends or happenings ... no knife talk allowed!

Old 06-29-2011, 07:48 PM
Living Legend

Honoring the white buffalo

Hello all,

Got a chance to attend the naming ceremony for the white buffalo (bison) born on May 12, 2011. This is a significant event in the Native American society.

It only happens 1 of 10 million births. If you ask the Lakota this is the third such recorded birth.

The calf was named Wakinyah Pejuta Mahpiya - Lightning Medicine Cloud:

I was a great honor to attend the ceremony. Well worth the vacation day from work.

I am not an expert or even well versed in Native American ceremonies so please take this for what I understood.

Here is the tree we gave of gifts to the Elders. I heard what they had called it and promptly forgot tough. I left a traditional offering of tobacco (white man's not kinnikinick) wrapped in red cloth tied shut with four treads of white, red, yellow and black -

Also brought a couple bails (from a friend, one for me and one for her) of hay for a gift to the calf. Also given the symbolic red covering and four color cords. Also, since I need to smile at everything(it's a Buddha and Pagan thing) I also included a bib for each saying "I love my Dad" and "I love my Mom" -

Arby Little Soldier's Ranch was the gentleman blessed/gifted with the responsibility of Lightning -

Here are the drummers. They serve this functions for many generations and is a skill held in high honor -

Had to get the Navy in Many of those there were veterans -

Gourd dancers performed several times during the day. Very enjoyable to watch -

Old 06-29-2011, 07:48 PM
Living Legend

Opening was a prayer. The lady here did a sign language translation -