MEMBER ITEMS FOR SALE
Custom Knives | Other Knives | General Items
-------------------------------------------

Go Back   The Knife Network Forums : Knife Making Discussions > Custom Knife Discussion Boards > Knife Making Discussions > High-Performance Blades

High-Performance Blades Sharing ideas for getting the most out of our steel.

Old 10-09-2011, 11:03 PM

tough stainless question

hey guys... new to the forum. I'm a canadian soldier and make a lot of knives for a lot of my compadres and my reputation is at stake. I have made all of my knives out of 440c for the last number of years and I'm looking for something to improve on it. The deal is, I am looking for the "perfect stainless" for a utility blade. it has to be able to hold a good edge, take a severe beating and still maintain the ability to resist rusting to a fair degree and be resharpened in the field. in your opinion what is the best all round stainless for a utility/combat blade that is "soldier proof"???
Old 10-10-2011, 10:46 AM
Hall of Famer

Good luck. You are trying to ballance opposing forces. The better the edge holding ability will be the harder it will be to sharpen the steel. Also those things that promote edge retention tend to increase brittleness which will decrease the ability to "take a beating". Stainless steels also tend to be more brittle than tool and spring steels requiring that the blade be made thicker to get the same strength and toughness. The advantage is that they do stain less. As far as soldier/sailer/marine proofing a knife-there's not cure for stupidity.

Personally I would stick with what you are using or one of the other tried and true stainless steels.

Doug

Old 10-10-2011, 11:16 AM

I would also stick to the 440C. What you may want to do though is experiment with the heat treat and tempering cycles. Cryogenic freezing will add some toughness. Higher or lower tempering can adjust the brittleness abit and your quench speed can effect the hardness.