MEMBER ITEMS FOR SALE
Custom Knives | Other Knives | General Items
-------------------------------------------

Go Back   The Knife Network Forums : Knife Making Discussions > Custom Knife Discussion Boards > Knife Making Discussions > High-Performance Blades

High-Performance Blades Sharing ideas for getting the most out of our steel.

Old 03-03-2005, 10:27 AM

What do you think Jerry?

I am new to Knife Network but not new to making knives. I have a number of questions about some things I want to try in making knives. And wanted your opinion of them, Jerry and others.
While working with metals I have learned that steel doesn?t conduct heat as well as brass, copper and other non-ferrous metals. The idea of plate quenching that I heard others speak of always involved steel plates. I thought of trying this years ago but intended to quench only the edge of the blade leaving the spine and back to cool in the air. And I intended to grind a piece of brass to the shape of the blade. That alone stopped me because of the difficulty in that operation.
Then I considered hollow-grinding a knife and flattening the last ?? to 3/8? of the edge with a blended grind. That would give me a chance to make a plate that would give complete contact (or more complete) of the edge and cool it faster and more evenly. But again the difficulty in creating a plate for each blade would be almost cost prohibitive. Do you think the idea is worth trying?
One last part of these questions. What about the idea of clamping the edge of a blade that is at the desired hardness (after tempering) in the aforementioned brass plates and then gradually heating the spine and back to a higher temperature while watching that temp with a infrared heat sensing device. The cutting edge would stay cool as the heat is drawn away into the heatsink created by the clamps. The idea is to develop a knife with a very hard edge (not too hard) with a very strong spine and back.

Riley White
Old 03-03-2005, 11:23 AM