MEMBER ITEMS FOR SALE
Custom Knives | Other Knives | General Items
-------------------------------------------

Go Back   The Knife Network Forums : Knife Making Discussions > Custom Knife Discussion Boards > Knife Making Discussions > The Newbies Arena

The Newbies Arena Are you new to knife making? Here is all the help you will need.

Old 05-30-2012, 05:16 PM

A real newbie here

Hello everyone! Isn't the internet amazing. There's a web-site for everything. I am not much of a knife maker, but as I approach retirement this may be another good hobby to take up, and this may be a place that I'll visit often.

I recently made the two knives shown here for my grandsons. The one is obviously a Damascus blade and the other is made from a power reciprocating hacksaw blade. I am getting some positive feedback from those who have seen them. They certainly have their flaws, but these are my first two.

I have a question about the quality of the Damascus blades I am seeing on ebay. I am seeing blades sell for around $10 - $20 range. Can these be any good? I bought he one in the picture below years ago, and I believe I paid about $80 for it.

Old 05-30-2012, 07:15 PM
Founding Member / Moderator

Welcome, Shoots High. Fill out your profile so we know where you are and maybe even a name.

Looks like you're off to a good start with your knives. I would suggest that you buy your blade steel from a reputable supplier though if you plan to try and make any more knives and you want to be sure of the quality. You're probably OK with that damascus blade but the other blade maybe, maybe not. It is very difficult for a newbie to judge the quality of a blade made from scrap steel because almost any kind of metal can make a blade that will cut something. They used bronze and copper for swords once upon a time - see what I mean?