MEMBER ITEMS FOR SALE
Custom Knives | Other Knives | General Items
-------------------------------------------

Go Back   The Knife Network Forums : Knife Making Discussions > Custom Knife Discussion Boards > Knife Making Discussions

Knife Making Discussions A place to discuss issues related to all aspects of the custom knifemaking community.

Old 06-06-2003, 10:06 PM

Cutting heavy metal

Hi All,
I am a newbie here but a longstanding member at one of the other forums and I have a silly question to ask. I am thinking seriously of trying my hand at some real knifemaking- I have done a few kits in the past- and I was thinking of starting with a slab of damascus but I am wondering, once I have the outline I want on the steel, what the heck can I cut it with? I am assuming that it might take a little while with a hacksaw so maybe I could get a little help?:confused:
I appreciate it immensely.
Def
Old 06-06-2003, 10:35 PM
Living Legend

Welcome. You have now found the best forum for your goal.

The answer to your questions depends on what tools you have available. If you had a forge, you could forge the knife to shape. In my opinion, damascus looks best when forged to shape.

If you have a drill or drill press, you can drill holes just outside the lines and then cut with a hacksaw.

If you have a steady hand and an angle grinder, You can profile it with a cutting disc and then grind to shape with a grinding stone.

If all else fails just grind down to the lines with a bench grinder, angle grinder or belt grinder.

Tumbling down the road at 35 MPH is no fun, TRUST ME!
Old 06-07-2003, 08:32 AM
Founding Member / Moderator

If you have never made a blade before making the first one out of damascus could be a very expensive way to discover that you haven't developed the skills necessary to make a blade. In other words, damascus can make a very pretty pile of scrap.

Get some 1095 or 1084 or O1 and make a few cheap blades before risking the big bucks on damascus....