MEMBER ITEMS FOR SALE
Custom Knives | Other Knives | General Items
-------------------------------------------

Go Back   The Knife Network Forums : Knife Making Discussions > Knife Organizations and Club Boards > The North Carolina Custom Knifemakers Guild Forum

The North Carolina Custom Knifemakers Guild Forum The North Carolina Custom Knifemakers Guild. Raising the general awareness of custom knives and the people who make them.

Old 11-12-2018, 08:42 PM
Registered

Forge help

I am new to knife making and havent put the money into a forge. I need to harden some blades so I can turn them into Christmas gifts. I am looking for someone local (close to Fayetteville NC) and can pay per blade or batch etc. Also for the future, what is the best way to harden blades when living in an apartment? Send em into a company?

Thank you all

-Logan
Old 11-13-2018, 06:01 PM
Skilled

what steel are they made from?
Old 11-16-2018, 01:53 PM
Guru

I have lived in an apartment for quite a while. I was fortunate to have worked in a machine shop with heat treating facilities. I also have two grinders, a 2x48 Dayton and a 1x42 with an 8" disk Delta, sitting on a cart for taking outside to grind.
After I was laid off I lived about 300 yards away from a North Carolina community college that had blacksmithing and knife forge classes. I traded advanced TIG welding techniques lessons for forge and hammer time as they had two Little Giant 50 lb trip hammers.