MEMBER ITEMS FOR SALE
Custom Knives | Other Knives | General Items
-------------------------------------------

Go Back   The Knife Network Forums : Knife Making Discussions > Custom Knife Discussion Boards > Knife Making Discussions > The Newbies Arena

The Newbies Arena Are you new to knife making? Here is all the help you will need.

Old 08-17-2012, 12:20 PM

total newb attempting first knife this weekend

Hello folks just wanted to say hi and say I am jumping in the fire and attempting to making my first knife this weekend. I have been reading the posts on the site for a while and finally decided to officially join and stop trolling lol. I also been watching a number of instructional dvd's and youtube video where I feel comfortable enough to attempt to make my first one. I have been watching the Tai Goo dvd and also Ron Woods Wood master dvd with him alot as well as studying various books. I just built my first forge made out of bricks this past weekend so I am getting ready to be a big boy lol. I live in Texas in the Ferris area if there is anyone close by who wouldn't mind passing some knowledge in person or wanting to have a beer and hang out while making knives. Email me at nrico214@gmail.com. I will be trying to make knives, shurikin (ninja stars and darts) along with other various metal related weapons an art crafts. Wish me luck and I look forward to chatting with all of ya.
Old 08-17-2012, 01:53 PM
Hall of Famer

Here's some advice. You're going to screw up so just accept that and get over it. It's all part of the learning process. The people who have their first knives come out looking good are far out numbered by those of us who made a hash of it. Also a mistake that you don't learn something from is a mistake wasted. Welcome aboard.

Doug

Old 08-17-2012, 02:08 PM