MEMBER ITEMS FOR SALE
Custom Knives | Other Knives | General Items
-------------------------------------------

Go Back   The Knife Network Forums : Knife Making Discussions > Custom Knife Discussion Boards > Knife Making Discussions > Fit & Finish

Fit & Finish Fit and Finish = the difference in "good art" and "fine art." Join in, as we discuss the fine art of finish and embellishment.

Old 01-04-2011, 01:48 PM

Help square/ flat grinding end of handle material

Hello guys, I am a newbie. I have been lurking around this forum for a few weeks and have learned a lot from you. I have a question that was probably covered in a basic wood shop class (which I did not take). I am trying to make a handle on a full tang knife out of 2 handle materials. How do you grind/sand the ends that meet each other and keep them flat and square? Is there a jig that I can buy or make for this? I have a belt sander and disc sander as well as elbow grease sanders. Can someone give me some direction? I am talking more specifically about small pieces.
Old 01-04-2011, 02:42 PM
Hall of Famer

Ok, I think that I know what you're trying to do. First of all, you'll need a square. A back saw with rather fine teeth would help too if you don't have something like a bandsaw.

Establish a straight edge on the scales if one doesn't already exist. With your square, here is where one of those small squares comes in handy, lay out a 90 degree angle to make your cut. It wouldn't hurt to mark the edge in pencil that you are measuring from just in case the edges of your blanks are not parellel. Do this with all four pieces. You don't have to worry about making the cut exactly 90 degrees to the face of the blank just be close. Any error here will be corrected for later.

If you are doing this step on a bandsaw, check the squareness of your guide with the square, the markings on the guides are frequently a little off.