MEMBER ITEMS FOR SALE
Custom Knives | Other Knives | General Items
-------------------------------------------

Go Back   The Knife Network Forums : Knife Making Discussions > Custom Knife Discussion Boards > The Sheath/Holster Makers Forum

The Sheath/Holster Makers Forum This is the place to discuss all forms of sheath and holster making.

Old 12-18-2012, 04:41 PM
Skilled

Question A Basic Leather Sewing Question...

Hi All,
I am extremely new to sewing of any kind.
In fact... I cannot even sew a button on a shirt without screwing it up.
Since I started making knives I knew that I would need to eventually learn the art of sheathmaking.
For the last couple of months I have slowly been purchasing tools for this experience.
Recently I purchased Chuck's DVD set and have watched it.
Chuck uses needles to sew with and is extremely skilled.
Well.... during my tool purchasing process I picked up an "automatic awl". This was before I had watched Chuck's DVDs.
I have not attempted any sewing yet, maybe next month.

Can I use this awl to make leather sheaths or is it best for me to scrap it and learn a method of using needles? I have not attempted any sewing yet but want to get off on the right foot.

Thanks!

Old 12-18-2012, 05:07 PM
Steel Addict

you can use the awl or you can use a method that uses a needle on each end. Or invest in a small leather sewing machine. I can sew anything. Wedding dresses to saddle repairs.

If you buy a wheel that marks where your holes go then use your awl, you will find this quick to learn and it is fun.

Heating up plastic and adding some rivets is pretty easy to learn but will never offer the unlimited beauty of leather work.

Stick w/ the awl if u need help pm me.
Old 12-18-2012, 05:59 PM
Skilled

piggy,
Thanks! I did indeed pick up a #6 stitch wheel when I was accumulating leather tools and I will start out learning the way of the awl.