MEMBER ITEMS FOR SALE
Custom Knives | Other Knives | General Items
-------------------------------------------

Go Back   The Knife Network Forums : Knife Making Discussions > Custom Knife Discussion Boards > The Sheath/Holster Makers Forum

The Sheath/Holster Makers Forum This is the place to discuss all forms of sheath and holster making.

Old 01-05-2004, 03:19 PM
Registered

Please critique!!

I am just getting started with leatherwork, and I would like a few tips and critisisms before I get any bad habits, as well as any ways to refine my work.

I started last week with the Stohlman starter kit and a 1/2 shoulder from Tandy. I had an idea of what I wanted, but it didn't turn out quite as well as I had hoped.

This is my first sheath. I wet molded it and dried it in the oven, then punched the holes with an awl. I couldn't do both layers, so I did one side then the other as I stitched. Turned out OK, but not real 'refined'.

Yesterday I finished a holster for my Ruger pistol. I laid out the design on a peice of large paper, and just kinda plaid it by ear from there. My lines are better, I got much better with the groover and used a sharpened drill bit to punch the holes. Sorry about the picture, I don't have a digital camera so I just scanned the holster

Any help would be appreciated. I've decided I like doing this and will be doing more of it. Looking into starting some tooling now.

Thanks much!!
Shane Watson
Old 01-05-2004, 03:21 PM
Registered

Sorry about the size of the holster, here it is again.

Old 01-08-2004, 01:25 AM

Quick comments on the sheath & holster.

The stitching on the holster (second piece done) seems more consistent than on the sheath. Not sure if that's the case or just the way the pics look. If you don't use an marking wheel or spacing fork to position your stitches, using such a tool will help keep your stitches consistent in size and spacing.