MEMBER ITEMS FOR SALE
Custom Knives | Other Knives | General Items
-------------------------------------------

Go Back   The Knife Network Forums : Knife Making Discussions > Custom Knife Discussion Boards > The Sheath/Holster Makers Forum

The Sheath/Holster Makers Forum This is the place to discuss all forms of sheath and holster making.

Old 11-22-2013, 03:50 PM
Enthusiast

Thinking about kydex

Ok guys I am a newbie to knives I think I have made about 22 to date and I have been using leather for sheaths and leather is expensive time consuming, I used to like doing it now I dread having to make sheaths.

Do I have to have the arbor press to make quality sheaths with kydex?

Is it easier to deal with than leather?

And any other questions I didn't ask that y'all could fill I. Lol
Old 09-15-2014, 05:38 AM
Skilled

Hi Ya Dustin,

My apologies for this being almost a year late!

I dont think there is a moderator for the thermoform forum. There doesn't seem to be a great interest in the material, or at least its fair to say Kydex is overlooked as an art form. I recently went to the knifemakers guild show in Louisville KY, and only a couple people who offered kydex sheaths even tried to make them look good. It seems like I hear a lot of guys who "hate" kydex...

To answer your question about the arbor press- NO, its not a requirement -you can set the roll rivets with a hand punch, similar to canvas eyelets, But the arbor press gives you far greater control when setting them, if you're planning on making a lot of sheaths and holster...its well worth the investment. More consistant pressure and you'll avoid smashing the bejabbers out of the little brass roll rivets.