MEMBER ITEMS FOR SALE
Custom Knives | Other Knives | General Items
-------------------------------------------

Go Back   The Knife Network Forums : Knife Making Discussions > Custom Knife Discussion Boards > Knife Making Discussions > The Newbies Arena

The Newbies Arena Are you new to knife making? Here is all the help you will need.

Old 06-28-2001, 12:05 PM
Frank Docherty

Hand Techniques

Hello everyone, I am new to the knifemaking world, I am at the moment making a Both swords and knives, but I want to make a sword using purely hand held tools, such as files etc.

I realise that this is going to be a long arduous job, but it is something I want to do, any help on hand cutting and finishing techniques would be most welcome.

I am also making a Scramasax, and even though I am in England, and visit the British library regularly I am finding it most difficult to find pictures or drawings of these ancient weapons, any advice on sources would be appreciated.

I found this Forum through knifemaker Terry Primos who's knives are true works of art, Thanks Terry.

My website can be found at www.frankdoc.in2home.co.uk

Best Regards
Frank
Old 06-28-2001, 12:23 PM
Don Cowles

First, Frank, welcome to the CKD. Glad to have you with us.

If I were going to make a long blade with files and hand tools, the first thing I would do is build a fixture to hold the steel securely in a vise so it could be worked without jumping all over the place. I would recommend a hardwood board of about the width of the stock you are using, and about the length of the blade you are making. You can clamp the board in a bench vise, and c-clamp the steel to the board. By moving the clamps around as needed, you can draw-file the steel to the desired shape, and finish with sanding blocks and wet-or-dry paper.