MEMBER ITEMS FOR SALE
Custom Knives | Other Knives | General Items
-------------------------------------------

Go Back   The Knife Network Forums : Knife Making Discussions > Factory Knife Customization & Mid-Tech Boards > Knife Kits Forum

Knife Kits Forum New to the art of knife making? Learn to make awesome knives, using advanced hands-on training inside. From KnifeKits.com.

Old 03-30-2007, 01:39 AM

Pin stock size, drill size & pressfit?

I am a newbie, and I recently bought some stainless steel pin stock- 3/16" and 1/4" diameters, thinking that it?s slightly oversized- so I just need to drill a 3/16" and a 1/4" hole for each and it will have a press fit. But no, even without removing the surface rust on the pins, they slide easily in and out of the holes. So if I remove the rust with fine sandpaper, the pin stock will for sure ?rattle around? in the holes.

Did I misunderstand this with buying 3/16" & 1/4" pin stock for 3/16" and 1/4" drilled holes and get a press fit? If I did, please advice how I should proceed from here? The actual holes are not yet drilled, since I just did a test on some scrap metal.

Thanks,

HV
Old 03-30-2007, 08:34 AM
Hall of Famer

Holes will generally be slightly oversized when drilled. So, a 1/4" drill bit will make a hole that is slightly larger than 1/4" You would need to get numbered drill bits (like machinists use) that are slightly undersized. I've not used them, but I think someone on here in the past said that McMaster-Carr carries them, and I'm sure you can find them elsewhere. Lowes, your corner hardware store, etc., will not have them.

That being said, a "press fit" probably won't be sufficient to hold your scales on (assuming that is what you're trying to attach). You should pein the pins (best) or at least use some sort of adhesive (also good). In either case, peining will expand the pin to fit the slightly over-sized hole, or adhesive will fill the gap.
Old 03-30-2007, 09:43 AM