MEMBER ITEMS FOR SALE
Custom Knives | Other Knives | General Items
-------------------------------------------

Go Back   The Knife Network Forums : Knife Making Discussions > Custom Knife Discussion Boards > Knife Making Discussions > The Newbies Arena

The Newbies Arena Are you new to knife making? Here is all the help you will need.

Old 12-16-2001, 08:43 PM
lometogo

Beginner's class

I'm a rank beginner and am enrolling for Jay Hendrickson's 'intro to bladesmithing' class at the Bill Moran school in February.
I'm not sure if I want to do forging or stock removal, so does it make sense to just jump into this class and get a feel for forging? Or would I be better advised to try to get some class work in stock removal first? I'd welcome all opinions.

And, by the way, my learning style is not to just go out and experiment. Initially, it's important for me to be in a classroom setting.

Love this eboard and thanks for any advice.

Terrance Collins
Austin, Texas
Old 12-16-2001, 10:54 PM
primos

Welcome Terrance. Good to have you. We're glad you have been enjoying the forums.

Since you have already enrolled in the class, it looks like you might be leaning towards forging. You're going to be doing plenty of it, so I hope it's what you want to do.

There's no reason for you to assume that you have to limit yourself to either forging or stock removal. Lot's of makers do both. If your primary interest leans toward high alloy/stainless steels, then you would be best served with stock removal. If your main interest is in carbon steels, it doesn't matter either way, but carbon steels sure do lend themselves well to forging. If you are wanting to make your own damascus, forging is necessary.

Old 12-16-2001, 11:37 PM
MIKE KOLLER

Terrance,

I attended the hammer in at washington,ar last spring,and although it is geared toward forging,it will be a tremendous experience.Regards less of what you pursue,you will find that several techniques apply to both forging and grinding.