MEMBER ITEMS FOR SALE
Custom Knives | Other Knives | General Items
-------------------------------------------

Go Back   The Knife Network Forums : Knife Making Discussions > Knife Organizations and Club Boards > Texas Knifemakers and Collectors Association

Texas Knifemakers and Collectors Association Dedicated to promoting custom knives and knifemakers.

Old 08-23-2007, 01:29 PM
Guru

weekend metalworking

Kind of late notice, but this weekend Friday-Sunday evening, I'm hosting my annual medieval armour-in. Not really aimed at knifemaking, but we do hot raising of steel sheet, a bit of knifesmithing and forgewelding, a bit of artillery and lots and lots of armour production and heat treating of high carbon steel sheet of odd shapes and sizes.

http://www.100megsfree3.com/kragaxe/...rmourin06.html

Old 08-28-2007, 01:10 AM
Guru

This past weekend I hosted the 5th annual Central-Texas Armour-In...a get-together I've been doing since about 2000. We had to skip a couple years due to moving and such, but it has become a summer tradition now.

I now have most of the basics of the trail and cheeks assembled on the Sikh Standing mortar project. It got to see it's first *real* projectile firing. We launched a 6" x 6" concrete-filled can around 100 yards into the field. It was quite loud and fun to watch. Everyone seemed surprised to be able to watch the projectile tumble through the air. I said "Aside from the boom, that's the best fun of it...watching them sail out downrange!". Here's a few pics from the weekend....