MEMBER ITEMS FOR SALE
Custom Knives | Other Knives | General Items
-------------------------------------------

Go Back   The Knife Network Forums : Knife Making Discussions > Custom Knife Discussion Boards > Ed Caffrey's Workshop

Ed Caffrey's Workshop Talk to Ed Caffrey ... The Montana Bladesmith! Tips, tricks and more from an ABS Mastersmith.

Old 03-18-2005, 09:26 AM
Enthusiast

best first project?

Well I am brand new to forging and I would like some ideas of what would be a good starting point. A project something that would be less likely to screw up. Also Ed does your new video show all the basic stuff and take a project from start to finish? Maybe this is where I sould start? It's always better for me to see something done than reading about it. Is the cable knife a hard project? I am somewhat attracted to that idea.
Old 03-18-2005, 12:16 PM
Super Moderator

Send a message via AIM to Ed Caffrey Send a message via Yahoo to Ed Caffrey
The video is all about forging, so you won't see any blade grinding going on. However, It does include forging, the thermal cycling, and how to harden a blade, as well as many tips and tricks to make things easier on yourself.

If you've not yet done so, the first thing to do is to learn how the hammer moves the material. When I have brand new students in the shop for a class, their first exercise is to take a piece of 1/2" round stock, and make it square, then back to round, then back to square. A few times of doing this exercise will teach you how to maniputlate the hammer to make the steel move the way you want it to.

If your past that point, I would recommend starting out with learning the steps required to forge a plain steel blade. Something like O-1 or 5160 is good to start with. Both are fairly easy to forge, and are forgiving if you make errors during the thermal cycling/heat treating. Cable will require that you know how to forge weld, so if you've not accompishd that yet, you might want to hold off.