MEMBER ITEMS FOR SALE
Custom Knives | Other Knives | General Items
-------------------------------------------

Go Back   The Knife Network Forums : Knife Making Discussions > Custom Knife Discussion Boards > Knife Making Discussions > The Folding Knife (& Switchblade) Forum

The Folding Knife (& Switchblade) Forum The materials, techniques and the designing of folding knives.

Old 09-28-2003, 12:23 PM
Skilled

Liner lock break in procedure ?

Hi, I'm new to knifemaking and have introduced myself in the newbie arena. I have made four knives, all liner locks and would like to someday try to sell my knives.

I have a question about liner lock break in period. Here is my procedure : (assuming the knife was built correctly) Assemble the finished Knife, tighten the pivot screws fully, back off slightly, fully tighten frame and bolster screws, tighten scale screws, using no loc tite. I then work the knife opening and closing until the ti lock face to blade tang locks and unlocks smoothly and the blade travels smooth and true.

I then disassemble, clean up, reassemble using loc tite and I leave the pivot compression a little tight, it opens easily with the thumber but will not easily snap open (used only as an example of the amount of compression). Is this procedure correct? Do most custom makers go through a break in period before they sell their knives? Thanks, Dave
Old 09-28-2003, 12:31 PM
Founding Member / Moderator

I don't know that I think of it as a break in period. It's more like the process that I do to get the knife adjusted properly. Yes, I think everybody would have to do something like that.....

Your question may already have been answered - try the Search button first!

Old 09-28-2003, 10:01 PM
Skilled

That sounds good to me. The only thing I do differently is to very lightly hand polish the contact edges on the liner spring and blade lock cut to facilitate smooth operation.

Old 09-29-2003, 08:10 AM
Hall of Famer