MEMBER ITEMS FOR SALE
Custom Knives | Other Knives | General Items
-------------------------------------------

Go Back   The Knife Network Forums : Knife Making Discussions > Custom Knife Discussion Boards > Knife Making Discussions > The Newbies Arena

The Newbies Arena Are you new to knife making? Here is all the help you will need.

Old 09-18-2011, 08:30 AM
Steel Addict

New guy heat treat question

Hi guys, I am very new to this! I have been consuming everything possible on making knives.....I made a trial/first blade from a circular saw blade, stock removal method.....when I wentto heat treat .....I used propane fired wood to heat.....my blade was affixed to a steel bar and placed into the swirling flame.....then my blade warped in several directions...what may have caused this? I will be putting together a proper forge, using brick and charcoal and forced air.....I want to continue with this hobby, but need some input

Last edited by Ray Rogers; 09-19-2011 at 10:54 AM.
Old 09-18-2011, 09:13 AM
Founding Member / Moderator

Do you mean a circular saw blade as in Skil-Saw? If so, there's no point in heat treating it at all as it will not harden. If you mean a saw blade from an old lumber mill then maybe/maybe not. The solution here is to buy a piece of blade stock from a knife supply house so that you know what you are dealing with. That way, you know exactly what is required to heat treat your blade because you'll know what type of steel you have and what condition it's in when you start (spheroid annealed).

Warpage is caused by unbalanced stresses in the steel. These stresses can be induced by welding (your blade was 'affixed to a steel bar') or by uneven grinding or uneven heating or by problems related to quenching (which you didn't do yet). To start with, you need to learn about annealing.