MEMBER ITEMS FOR SALE
Custom Knives | Other Knives | General Items
-------------------------------------------

Go Back   The Knife Network Forums : Knife Making Discussions > Custom Knife Discussion Boards > Knife Making Discussions > The Newbies Arena

The Newbies Arena Are you new to knife making? Here is all the help you will need.

Old 08-16-2013, 11:04 AM
Enthusiast

newbie questions

Being a self-proclaimed newbie, I have a couple of questions:
I have no forge or kiln so how do I go about heat treatment?
I have no big grinder (only a basic 2 wheel Delta), will this work?
How did the "old-timers" handle these tasks?
In regard to these other questions, what kind of steel should I use?
I do have extensive experience working with hand tools as I build muzzle loading rifles, so the files and other tools are at hand (and so is the sweat!)
Thanks in advance
BJ
Old 08-16-2013, 11:30 AM
Steel Addict

Good Morning BJ.

I don't know if I count as an old timer but here is my two cents.

you can make knives with very limited tools to start with. how far and how complex will factor in at some point. lots of guys start with nothing much more than a hand drill and a few files. you can get the job done it just takes more time. the delta can work to speed things up but its not really designed for what we do. there are makes here on the forum that turn out great knives with very few tools.

the heat treatment is a bit harder. In my opinion you should stick with one of the simpler high carbon steels, maybe 1084, 1075, even O1. they can be harden (not to their best) with a simple torch or charcoal forge. then tempered in you kitchen oven. keep in mind the you will get better results as you upgrade your tools and process. I feel its more about practice than fancy tools.

you might want to pick up a copy of Wayne Goddard's Fifty Dollar Knife Shop. he has some very basic ideas that can help you get started.

Erik
Old 08-16-2013, 12:29 PM
Founding Member / Moderator