MEMBER ITEMS FOR SALE
Custom Knives | Other Knives | General Items
-------------------------------------------

Go Back   The Knife Network Forums : Knife Making Discussions > Custom Knife Discussion Boards > Knife Making Discussions > The Newbies Arena

The Newbies Arena Are you new to knife making? Here is all the help you will need.

Old 12-07-2005, 07:40 PM
Enthusiast

Sharpening system...opinions sought

During my daily web surfing I came across this website listed under a tutorial. Sounds interesting to me....but then I'm a newbie. Care to visit the site and give me your opinions?

http://www.handamerican.com/scary.html

Bernie

Old 12-07-2005, 08:44 PM
Super Moderator

Scary Sharp has gotten very popular with woodworkers - esp. for sharpening chisels. It's simple and it works! This is the first time I've seen someone marketing it.

All you really need is a good, flat surface. The guy who wrote about it first used glass, so that's usually what you see. You tape down pieces of sandpaper - starting with maybe 200 grit and working your way finer until the tool is sharp. You MUST keep the edge at a constant angle, but the repetition in this method sorta trains you to do that.

The advantage is that you can end up with a very sharp edge and a smooth finish fairly quickly and without some expensive system like Tormek. The disadvantage is that you go through a bunch of sandpaper and you have to have a good variety of grits.

If you put some oil on the paper, it effectively cuts the cutting size of the grit about in half. It also makes it a lot easier to sharpen.

Go get a dull knife (like one from the kitchen) and try it out.

Old 12-07-2005, 09:44 PM

I went over this method in a recent post elesewhere, and it works better every time I do it.