MEMBER ITEMS FOR SALE
Custom Knives | Other Knives | General Items
-------------------------------------------

Go Back   The Knife Network Forums : Knife Making Discussions > Custom Knife Discussion Boards > Knife Making Discussions

Knife Making Discussions A place to discuss issues related to all aspects of the custom knifemaking community.

Old 01-15-2007, 01:23 PM
Enthusiast

MAKERS MARK (I need help)

I just received the new Knifes 2007 for my birthday. After an afternoon of looking through all of the really great examples I realized what a complete novice and amateur I really am.
After riding the emotional rollercoaster of envy and doubt, along with resignation and then determination there was one thing that universally stood out to me.
All of these knives have a better ?Makers Mark? than I have been able to come up with.
Some looked etched, electric or laser.
Some looked stamped into the metal.

I need people with much more experience and knowledge to help me out.
I?m looking for ideas on exactly how to get a nice, crisp, sharp blade mark.
Ideas on how to handle blasted or Damascus uneven surfaces.
Actually, any help at all would be greatly appreciated.
Ken

Old 01-15-2007, 01:43 PM
Founding Member / Moderator

Send a message via AIM to Don Cowles
Check out my article on blade marking in the current (March '07) issue of Blade Magazine.

Don Cowles Custom Knives

Old 01-15-2007, 05:49 PM
Steel Addict

Don, Great job on the blade artical. The timing was super. I,m having problems with my stencil making.