MEMBER ITEMS FOR SALE
Custom Knives | Other Knives | General Items
-------------------------------------------

Go Back   The Knife Network Forums : Knife Making Discussions > Custom Knife Discussion Boards > Knife Making Discussions

Knife Making Discussions A place to discuss issues related to all aspects of the custom knifemaking community.

Old 03-28-2001, 10:59 PM
Marion David Poff

Wood Handles for Hard-Use Knives..Your Experiece??

So,

There is this local maker who prefers to offer his knives with wood handles. And given that I really respect his style and artistry, I am planning on buying a couple of his knives with wood handles. But, I have very little experience with wood handles, and have heard all sorts of horror stories about them moving and cracking, etc.

To the point-

1) What has been your experience with wood handles in use?

2) Any wood rise to the top as a proven performer?

3) Sought after characteristics would be reistance to moisture, toughness, what else?

4) What 5 woods would be the best for a knife handle?

In short, what all do you all know about wood for knife handles that I should know?

Marion David Poff
Old 03-28-2001, 11:11 PM
MIKE KOLLER

top woods for handles;
Rosewood,Cocobolo,Bubinga,Osage orange(hedge),Hard rock maple,...there are so many . And then you have the wood that has been stabilized.If allowed to properly dry ,most do real well.Are you wanting a light toned wood or dark?
Old 03-29-2001, 12:07 AM
Geno

Mostly rosewood,desert ironwood,ebony,cocobolo,and curly maple.Softer woods need to be stabilized.
Old 03-29-2001, 12:59 AM
Marion David Poff

Thanks,

I am probably looking for a medium to darker tone, or better yet, a red or orange with dark brown and/or black. Contrast.

MDP
Old 03-29-2001, 08:22 AM
Don Cowles

MDP-

If you have access to it, look at the article on handle materials in the December 2000 issue of Knive Illustrated. It might provide some insight.
Old 03-29-2001, 09:30 AM
JLoose

Wooden Handles