MEMBER ITEMS FOR SALE
Custom Knives | Other Knives | General Items
-------------------------------------------

Go Back   The Knife Network Forums : Knife Making Discussions > Custom Knife Discussion Boards > Knife Making Discussions > The Newbies Arena

The Newbies Arena Are you new to knife making? Here is all the help you will need.

Old 10-04-2009, 10:08 PM
Enthusiast

Bead Blast Help

I hate to start a new thread on this but can't find the answer I'm looking for so here goes. What equipment do you use to bead blast micarta handles. I searched Harbor Freight for bead blast equipment and found two items that look like a plastic jug with a hose and nozzle attached. These things were in the $20 something range. Are they good enough to bead blast a set of handles on a full tang knife. Also, I've never worked with micarta before. The stuff I have is black canvas and seems to be very hard to grind. I'm trying to achieve a "grip-py" non-slip type texture. Is this stuff too hard for what I'm trying to achieve. Again, sorry if these things have been discussed on another thread but I need to know these answers fairly soon. Thanks as always...

Old 10-05-2009, 08:44 AM
Founding Member / Moderator

Sand blasting equipment is used for bead blasting. The difference is that glass beads are used instead of sand (usually an aluminum oxide blasting media). The little blaster you found can manage and canvas Micarta can be one of the grippier materials.

However, bead blasting - actually using glass beads - won't get you very far. Glass is used to create a fine texture, not a rough texture. Micarta is so tough it would hardly be affected by glass. You'll get much more effect from the sand and it's less expensive too. Even so, don't expect the surface to be deeply pitted and with a grip like carpet tape, it's just a slight friction not much more than you'd get from anything that wasn't polished ....

Your question may already have been answered - try the Search button first!