MEMBER ITEMS FOR SALE
Custom Knives | Other Knives | General Items
-------------------------------------------

Go Back   The Knife Network Forums : Knife Making Discussions > Custom Knife Discussion Boards > Knife Making Discussions > The Newbies Arena

The Newbies Arena Are you new to knife making? Here is all the help you will need.

Old 07-28-2011, 09:28 AM
Master

Guard advise

Hey everyone, I was commissioned to do a "custom replica" of the buck skinning knife (http://www.freewebs.com/skinning-knife/buckskinner.jpg). I'm not sure what is custom about replicating a knife but I wasn't in the position to refuse the man. Anyways the first picture is what I have so far. He wants a full tang but the guard would fit over similar to a stick tang. My dilemma is that while I have a file guide, it's crappy but will work for just this one project, I'm not 100% confident I can slot the steel guard for this guys knife. I've never done it before and while I want to learn, I don't want my learning piece to be this guy's knife. So I was thinking what if I went with bolsters and a deeper first finger groove? I want it to be functional and not worry about slipping a hand on the blade. What do you guys think? Thanks in advance.

Photobucket

Photobucket
Old 07-28-2011, 10:05 AM
Hall of Famer

I think that I understand what you are wanting to do but I'm not sure that you can make it work the way that you have the tang profiled. Have you condidered a single branch guard where the arm of the guard only extends past the ricasso on the edge side of the blade?