MEMBER ITEMS FOR SALE
Custom Knives | Other Knives | General Items
-------------------------------------------

Go Back   The Knife Network Forums : Knife Making Discussions > Custom Knife Discussion Boards > Knife Making Discussions > The Newbies Arena

The Newbies Arena Are you new to knife making? Here is all the help you will need.

Old 03-04-2012, 09:43 PM
Steel Addict

Another FNG

Hi everybody. Just wanted to drop a note and intro myself. I've been reading up on a lot of the posts here about techniques, and design, etc... I'm a Firefighter by trade, and I enjoy my schedule which gives me ample time off to engage in hobbyesque things like knife making. Though I'm new to knife making, I've spent many years building random things out of wood and metal... just never really combined.

I've always wanted to get into knife making, and I plunged into it feet first with my first project. All I had was a harbor freight 1x30, and other basic shop tools, but I think it turned out fairly decent - though it isn't complete yet. I need to send the blade out for heat treating, but I want to wait until I have more blades to get a bundle price.

First Knife 2, roughed in with scales and pins

First Knife, Roughed in with scales and pins

I'll take some better lighted pictures when the knife is actually finished, and ready for testing.

I did just get in my first 2x72. Its the grizzly and, I know, it isn't the best - but it is lightyears better than the 1x30!

As part of my searching, reading, watching videos, etc., I have had a few ideas about various things. I've always been the tinkering type, so it is in my nature to try and improve what I have. I posted up a couple youtube videos today. One of them is a grinding jig that I'm fairly proud of.

http://youtu.be/_yJy2uvy8iA

http://youtu.be/8Li_NuFzyJ8

I'm open for critiques and criticism - all I want at this point is to get better. I don't expect to be pushing out Jay Fisher quality any time soon!