MEMBER ITEMS FOR SALE
Custom Knives | Other Knives | General Items
-------------------------------------------

Go Back   The Knife Network Forums : Knife Making Discussions > Custom Knife Discussion Boards > The Business of Knife Making

The Business of Knife Making A forum dedicated to all aspects of running, managing and legal operational issues relating to the custom knife making and custom knife selling industry.

Old 08-19-2008, 11:42 PM
Skilled

Question How Set The Perfect Price For Each Knife???

Hey There,
I have been making knives now for about four years and selling for about three years. One of the biggest problems I still have is figuring out just how much to ask for a knife. I Know this could be a touchy subject and maybe even a personal subject. I also know there are hundreds of variables that can be looked at and it is probley totaly differnt for every knife maker. A lot of it depends on just how well known a maker is and a lot of it may depend on the rarity of handle material, who made the damascus, how many hours were spent making the knife, what the maker had to spend on parts and fittings so on and so forth. I was hoping that if some of you proffesionals who have a good way to come up with the pricing could kinda go through your pricing process it may help me come up with a little better set process for my self. I was wondering if one thing people do is mark up material a certain percentage and add that in to the price some way. Say I buy a set of mammoth scale and a billet of damascus all for $100.00 then add 15% on to that so that would be $115.00 dollars worth of material and then some way add in some money for the grinding and assembly time and a little to cover pins and materials. Or is there a lot better formula to figure out a price. Do some people just make a knife, look at it and say "hmm that looks like a 300.00 dollar knife." I know I have read other people sights that say they have a stategic pricing guide or formula to come up with