MEMBER ITEMS FOR SALE
Custom Knives | Other Knives | General Items
-------------------------------------------

Go Back   The Knife Network Forums : Knife Making Discussions > Custom Knife Discussion Boards > Knife Making Discussions > The Newbies Arena

The Newbies Arena Are you new to knife making? Here is all the help you will need.

Old 10-21-2009, 09:38 AM

NewB! need help starting

hey guys
i am new to knife making, have been checking books and some videos
the thing is after seeing so many ways iam more confused than before!
like for example to to cut out the shape of a blade i can use a band saw or drill holes with drill press outlining the shape and cut through, which is relatively better?

i can spend $500 upto $1000 tho not very likely to go that high as a start, i wont do any forging, will just buy ready made steel and shape it, and no worries about handle either. so all i want to know mainly are the things i need to make the blade

space is bit of issue of now but not long lasting one

so any advise on what i should start with? including the steel type

PS: the specs are very important since i am new and i dont live in the US so i will looking by properties not makes for example (ie , Horse pwer , 1 or 3 phase, etc.)

thanks
Old 10-21-2009, 03:41 PM
Hall of Famer