MEMBER ITEMS FOR SALE
Custom Knives | Other Knives | General Items
-------------------------------------------

Go Back   The Knife Network Forums : Knife Making Discussions > Custom Knife Discussion Boards > The Display Case

The Display Case A place to post your latest knives and creations. Let the Knife Network community see your work first!

Old 07-28-2005, 04:35 PM
Living Legend

Question Another experimental one ... Hmmm... Survival Bowie

Here's one thats been receiving a bit of thought and work lately. The concept was basically a so-called survival knife with a Sheffield Bowie type design. This one has been redone and redone and redone ! About the 3rd set of handles now !!! Its my first attempt at making serrations - these are all hand cut. Handles are surprisingly comfortable and shaped for security.

A working grade knife with a working finish. The specs - 8inch blade - RWL34 Powdered Swedish stainless steel, flat ground, convex edge, machine finished. 60 Rockwell. Top edge is deep hollowground one side - "chisel" style, convex on the other side. All hand filed in. The top swedge returns to full thickness at the tip for added tip strength. 416SS oval guard. Full tang with minimal taper. Black Dymondwood handles. Swinger sheath with snap. The front pouch is big enough to take a Leatherman Wave.

The handle design just doesn't work for me, and I was actually more pleased with the sheath !! But I can see the potential in the design. I'm keen to get feedback and other ideas from all of you.

Thanks in advance. Jason.

(Matthew 10.16)
Old 07-28-2005, 05:55 PM
Super Moderator

Quote:
The handle design just doesn't work for me
That would be my take as well. It may BE comfortable, but it doesn't LOOK comfortable. (particularly to someone with large hands) Color of the scales may have something to do with that. It's a knockout looking blade with a dull looking handle.