MEMBER ITEMS FOR SALE
Custom Knives | Other Knives | General Items
-------------------------------------------

Go Back   The Knife Network Forums : Knife Making Discussions > Custom Knife Discussion Boards > The Business of Knife Making

The Business of Knife Making A forum dedicated to all aspects of running, managing and legal operational issues relating to the custom knife making and custom knife selling industry.

Old 08-03-2006, 10:23 AM
Steel Addict

Getting a brand name for my knives

I am a retired hobbyist knife maker. I do not intend to make a living making knives. I would like to make enough to be able to upgrade some equipment.

My question is how do I get a name I can put on my knives? I had thought about just using my name & city/state, D.R. Vincent/Salem, OR. How do can I find out if here is anyone out there with my name & initials who is making knives? Or, does it matter (I would think it would)? Do I need to register my name or copyright it?

What is the procedure & where do I go from here?

Due to disabilities & health reasons I will not be able to travel all over the country and do the knife show circuit, nor do I have the production capabilities to produce the quantity of knives necessary to do that. I just want to make knives and sell a few, and want my own name on them. I can sell some through the local cutlery stores.

I would really appreciate any help from the more experienced hands here in the forum.

Thanks for the help,
Dale Vincent
dalervincent@comcast.net
Old 08-03-2006, 12:23 PM
Living Legend

Dale,

I do not know anyone that has TRADEMARKED their name for knifemaking. It is possible but I do not know anyone that has.