MEMBER ITEMS FOR SALE
Custom Knives | Other Knives | General Items
-------------------------------------------

Go Back   The Knife Network Forums : Knife Making Discussions > Custom Knife Discussion Boards > Knife Making Discussions > Fine Embellishment

Fine Embellishment Everything from hand engraving and scrimshaw to filework and carving. The fine art end of the knifemaker's craft.

Old 07-13-2005, 08:12 PM
Steel Addict

Where to get 24K gold wire for inlays?

Hey Forum:

I am a full time jeweler, and I've recently started to try inlaying gold into some practice plates. I started by using some homemade 14KY (annealed) wires, but the get such a temper to them so quickly, I'd like to try 24K. Now I am having a harder than expected time trying to get 24K gold wires for inlays. I normally use Stuller out of Lafayette, LA for all of my general small quantities of stock, but today they did not have 24K x 24 ga. wire on hand. It's the first time I've ever ordered pure gold wire, so I was amazed that they did not have it in stock. I also checked on-line with Hoover & Strong (hooverandstrong.com), and it seems you have to order a huge amount to get them to ship out.

Who can offer some assistance for this? Should I also get a selection of 18K various colors, and 22KY for variations in colors?

Thanks ahead of time for any suggestions.

Sincerely,

Mark in Nashville, TN
Old 07-13-2005, 08:25 PM
Skilled

If you draw out your 14k why don't you draw out some 24k. If you have a ingot mold you can use 24k casting gain make an ingot and draw it out. 30ga and finer is a little tough because its so fine and soft its hard to grip without crushing. You may want to try United Precious Metals in New York. I can give you the number send me an Email.
Mike Cirelli

Last edited by MCirelli; 07-13-2005 at 10:56 PM.
Old 07-13-2005, 10:18 PM
Skilled

Hey Mark.