MEMBER ITEMS FOR SALE
Custom Knives | Other Knives | General Items
-------------------------------------------

Go Back   The Knife Network Forums : Knife Making Discussions > Custom Knife Discussion Boards > Tool Time

Tool Time Let's talk shop. Equipment, Tips & Tricks, Safety issues - Post it here.

Old 06-09-2014, 03:24 PM
Registered

total noob... where do I buy raw steel?

Working on building a belt grinder right now. I got my steel plate parts from polarbearforge.com. Where do I even go to look for a 1 1/2" steel bar though? This doesn't seem like a Lowes or Home Depot item. I'm a woodworker that just started tinkering with some knife making.

Is this something that places like Grainger have? There are huge steel mills here in Canton OH but I doubt I can just buy 3' of steel bar from them :-)

Last edited by nikbrown; 06-09-2014 at 03:28 PM.
Old 06-09-2014, 04:45 PM
Skilled

Welcome Nik, here in Kansas City we have a metal store called Metal By The Foot and there should be a similar place somewhere in Ohio. I bought 2 pieces of 1 1/2" aluminum 22" long to make additional tooling arms for my KMG. They also had steel, brass and bronze but they were to expensive and too heavy for what I needed. I suggest you just check and call around. There has to be a place that non-commercial users can buy from. Good luck!

Tony Z
Kansas City, MO

"Retreat? Hell, we just got here!"
Captain Lloyd Williams, USMC
Battle Of Belleau Wood June 1918
Old 06-09-2014, 09:13 PM
Hall of Famer

If you can't find anything locally goggle up Metal Depot. They list that size in both steel and aluminum.