MEMBER ITEMS FOR SALE
Custom Knives | Other Knives | General Items
-------------------------------------------

Go Back   The Knife Network Forums : Knife Making Discussions > Custom Knife Discussion Boards > The Outpost

The Outpost This forum is dedicated to all who share a love for, and a desire to make good knives, and have fun doing it. We represent a diverse group of smiths and knifemakers who bring numerous methods to their craft.

Old 02-11-2002, 01:26 PM
thehomesteader

WI info

Following is an excerpt from an early (unedited) paper on WI, If you guys like it I will post more. If there is a more appropriate forum let me know, I do not want to upset anybody by clogging up the isles!
I also want to say that in no way am I an expert in this area, I am by no means a master smith, nor do I hold a degree in metallurgy. The following is just what I have learned along the way and what works for me. If you see discrepancies or outright false hoods in the following, by all means post a correction! Thank you.

Ways to identify wrought iron:
1.&nbsp &nbsp &nbsp &nbsp Chemical
2.&nbsp &nbsp &nbsp &nbsp Physical
This paper will not treat on the chemical as I have little experience in those methods and they seem, on the whole, to be impractical for small shop use. It should be mentioned however that chemical identification of wrought iron is carried on in much the same way as for other metals. Various acids and reagents will yield serviceable results and if this interests you I would not discourage further investigation. The main advantage to chemical identification is that it is not destructive in the degree that a physical test is. Therefore it would be better for preservation tasks. Also, it is more accurate than physical testing, as some fine grades of iron may possess slag fibers of such diminutive stature as to be invisible to the naked eye. (Would you believe 250k per square inch?)