MEMBER ITEMS FOR SALE
Custom Knives | Other Knives | General Items
-------------------------------------------

Go Back   The Knife Network Forums : Knife Making Discussions > Custom Knife Discussion Boards > Knife Making Discussions > The Newbies Arena

The Newbies Arena Are you new to knife making? Here is all the help you will need.

Old 12-23-2016, 07:56 PM

harbor 1?30!!!

Hey everyone! I'm new to knife making and recently purchased a harbor freight 1?30 and I'm struggling with it!
Looking for some advice from people who have experience with them!

One major problem is getting the belts to fit correctly I've messed with the tension but there's still a good bit of slack!

And bevels....oh bevels haha I can't get a decent bevel!
I've done plenty with files but want to learn on a grinder, I've been doing freehand and have had less than decent results. Any tips! Or simple cheap jigs I could build!?

Lastly ANY re omandations on simple mods or anything about this machine would be super helpful!
Thanks guys,
Ty.
Old 12-23-2016, 08:35 PM
Founding Member / Moderator

Look at it this way: once a person decides for sure they want to make knives they need a good grinder and that's about a $2000 out lay. Your 1x30 was probably under $50. That indicates a huge difference in the type of performance you can expect from those two grinders.

Bottom line is, lots of guys try to start out with a 1x30 (I did) but, honestly, you're better off using files and sand paper. The 1x30 has no power, won't track if you put any pressure on it, and the belts are so small that they wear out almost instantly if you do manage to grind some metal with it. I made one or two pen knife sized blade with mine and threw it away.