MEMBER ITEMS FOR SALE
Custom Knives | Other Knives | General Items
-------------------------------------------

Go Back   The Knife Network Forums : Knife Making Discussions > Community Discussion Boards > Knife Photography Discussion

Knife Photography Discussion Share and improve your techniques on knife photography. Web and print imaging discussions welcome. Come on in ...

Old 02-15-2014, 07:53 PM

would like some honnest feed back

hi would like some honest feedback on some photos I have taken, not the knifes. I like and own them. I am trying to get better at taking pics of knife and am wondering if my f stop could be adjusted better or if my iso was to high and it reads grainy. thx in advance for the info.
http://[URL=http://s746.photobucket.com/user/ssticher/media/knifes/DSC_0137_zpsf624d908.jpg.html][/URL][/IMG]
Old 02-20-2014, 12:34 PM

Hi,
Please take my input with a grain of salt, as I am no professional. My feedback is largely about the setting more than the knife.

The knife is well lit (to my eyes anyways), but the reflection off the butt of the knife draws my attention, and detracts in my opinion from the clean lines.

The setting distracts me as well. I would look at finding a way to remove what looks like staples in the fabric in the background for a more professional look.

Same with cleaning up the edges of the 'pillow'. I've read in other threads about a rolled up ball of tape, sticky side out to get the knife to sit at the desired angle.

I know that you asked specifically about camera settings and I certainly can't help there, so I hope that I am not out of line by posting my thoughts of your photo.

It's looking good, and I'm sure that you'll find ways to tweak your setup and camera settings to your liking.

Cheers

Old 02-20-2014, 12:48 PM
Steel Addict