MEMBER ITEMS FOR SALE
Custom Knives | Other Knives | General Items
-------------------------------------------

Go Back   The Knife Network Forums : Knife Making Discussions > Custom Knife Discussion Boards > Ed Caffrey's Workshop

Ed Caffrey's Workshop Talk to Ed Caffrey ... The Montana Bladesmith! Tips, tricks and more from an ABS Mastersmith.

Old 12-24-2000, 08:15 AM
Tony

forge itch

I've been using my whishper forge for a couple months now. About 5 weeks ago I started getting itchy and it got bad enough I ended up going to a dermatologist. Since there was no rash and my blood tests were normal he gave me two prescriptions and a shot of steroids and said come back in 3 weeks.

I really suspected it was something in my shop, so I stayed out a couple days and the itch almost disappeared. Back in the shop forging, more itch.

The forge is in a 12X20 shop with good exhaust ventilation, and I always use a respirator working around it, but I think working in the forge area is somehow causing the problem. Dry skin seems too simple an explanation, but...

I'd be interested (and surprised)if anybody else had run into anything similar working around a gas forge.
Old 12-24-2000, 09:26 AM
Ed Caffrey

Hi Tony!
The first thought that pops into my mind it the refractory in the forge. I know that Ka-wool is tough on some people, others have physical problems working around the insul-board. I personally get itchy when working with the Ka-wool, whether it's in the forge, or actually handling the stuff.
Everybody has different sensitivities to various materials, an example is me an cocobolo....................as long as I have the resperator on, I'm OK, but take it off and my eyes start puffing up, my nose runs, and I cough like a cat with a fur ball stuck. Maybe the best thing to do is to logically try to find out what it is that's bothering you, and then if possible, eliminate that material from your shop. Let us know how it goes!
Merry Christmas!!
Old 12-24-2000, 08:24 PM