MEMBER ITEMS FOR SALE
Custom Knives | Other Knives | General Items
-------------------------------------------
New Posts | New PhotosAll Photos



Go Back   The Knife Network Forums : Knife Making Discussions > Custom Knife Discussion Boards > Knife Making Discussions > The Newbies Arena

The Newbies Arena New to Knife Making? Here's all the help you need ...

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 04-13-2012, 04:42 AM
T. Spencer T. Spencer is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Dunkirk, Ohio
Posts: 25
Electrical question

I found that my garage wiring has no ground. I'm going to put in a breaker for the outlets only and leave the lights and door opener as is. My question is, will one 20 amp breaker with one 110 line be ok? I'll have the KMG, Paragon, toaster oven, drill press and some other lower amp toys. I won't be powering every thing at once, I just wonder if using the toaster oven and Paragon at the same time will be ok.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 04-13-2012, 07:40 AM
Ed Caffrey's Avatar
Ed Caffrey Ed Caffrey is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Great Falls, Montana, USA
Posts: 3,973
Send a message via AIM to Ed Caffrey Send a message via Yahoo to Ed Caffrey
Probably not. If I remember correctly, a paragon requires a dedicated 20 amp break itself. That means that while it's operating, nothing else can be drawing from that circuit.

The toaster oven is another "amp hog".....I can pretty much bet that if you try to run the paragon and the toaster oven at the same time, off the same circuit, it's just gona trip the breaker, or possibly burn the place down! You also have to consider that IF you go the route you described, and have the paragon running....it's likely that will be the ONLY thing you'll have enough "juice" for.
Let's say you have the paragon running, and decide you need to do a "quick little job" on the KMG.....you flip on the KMG, and the breaker trips......

Based on what you've described, The KMG, Paragon, and toaster oven should each be on it's own 20 amp breaker/circuit......if I advised anything less, I would be setting you up to burn down your shop/garage.


__________________

www.caffreyknives.net
EdCaffreyMS@caffreyknives.net
"Nobody cares what you know.....until they know you care."
See me at table 2R at the Blade Show!
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 04-13-2012, 07:55 AM
T. Spencer T. Spencer is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Dunkirk, Ohio
Posts: 25
Thanks for the reply Ed. I'll just use the kitchen oven to temper and use the other tools one at a time. There will be plenty other things to do while HTing anyhow. Since I'm looking into buying a place I don't want to put a whole lot into the garage, I just want to get started and be SAFE.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 04-15-2012, 08:16 AM
sdeering sdeering is offline
Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 30
If you are tinkering around in the panel I would add a ground to it. I don t know what your codes are but you may be able to pound a ground rod in outside your garage and run a ground wire in to the panel. Also check where you panel power is comming from. If it is run from the house panel it probly comes off of a breaker in the house, check to see if it is enough for all your uses as well.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 04-15-2012, 12:50 PM
Larry Peterson Larry Peterson is offline
Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: I was born and raised in Spanish Fork, Utah. I now live between Manti and Ephraim, Utah. We built a home here about 10 year ago.
Posts: 67
If I may,

When I built my home I used "Square D" products. They make a thin "2 in 1" breaker where you end up with two circuits in the space naormally filled by one breaker. If the service box is feeding your garage from a 20 amp breaker, you might want to see if you can use the "2 in 1" type to give you two circuits. I purchased the service box and breakers from Home Depot.

Please have an electricutioner double check what I am suggesting so I dont get you toasted! Best wishes,

Larry Peterson
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 04-15-2012, 06:56 PM
T. Spencer T. Spencer is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Dunkirk, Ohio
Posts: 25
Thanks for the replies. I went to Lowe's and grab what I need to take care of it. I'm just going to run buried conduit and cable the whole 66 inches from the house to the garage from a separate breaker. I am only going to use 1 high amp tool at a time.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
lights, press


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Electrical Shock? Misfire The Newbies Arena 9 02-06-2011 12:15 AM
Need Electrical help 10es& The Newbies Arena 5 01-12-2010 12:10 AM
electrical etching? metalbender The Outpost 8 10-17-2007 05:30 PM
Electrical Motor Question Bwitty The Newbies Arena 7 02-26-2004 05:59 PM
Need Electrical Help Joe Walters Tool Time 10 02-16-2004 04:45 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:40 AM.




KNIFENETWORK.COM
Copyright © 2000
CKK Industries, Inc. All Rights Reserved
Powered by ...

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
The Knife Network : All Rights Reserved