View Full Version : For Darrel - TC4's

GordonK
07-19-2002, 02:40 PM
Darrel - many thx for the prompt delivery of the TC-4's. I received them yesterday!!! This is my first attempt at G-10 and it requires a lot of patience!! I think more than Dymondwood or micarta. You definitely have a winner with this one!! I used the blue scales first just to give it a try. I'm trying to bevel the sides just enough to show a bit of a pattern. I tried using my 1" belt sander on it and that was fine for top edge, but not that good for the bottom. I tried a small drum on my Dremel and that's better, but it sure clogs the drum in a hurry. I'm using a crepe block constantly. I'll post a pic of the "next one" in a couple of weeks or as I get time. I'm thinking cocobolo dymondwood with brass mosaic pins. This blade has tons of possibilities!!!!

I've been working with handles and pre-finished blades for a couple of years now. Work schedule and finding blades to play kind of stopped me from "playing". The newsletter I received prompted an order right away. I ordered a couple of DDR-II's a few days later - I'm pretty excited about these - this will be my first foray into folders.

Thx again for the prompt service - gord

Darrel Ralph
07-19-2002, 03:00 PM
Thanks Gordon.

Here's a tip for ya.
Cocbolo scale material is on the way to knifekits.com as we speak.
We found a vendor that we were pleased with.
The material we chose was sawn on the cross grain for us and I am very happy with the look in the wood that we are getting. I feel this is the best looking cocbolo I have ever seen.
We will be offering raw stock in 4.5 x 12 inch pieces milled to about .17 thick.
We will also be offering pre-machined handles for all our models soon.
I feel the TC4 is a good blade for many uses. It just takes a little drawing and thinking to make the blade and handles fit your purpose.