View Full Version : Hardening Leather

Black Cloud
05-17-2002, 08:49 PM
I am new to leather working and would like to know if anybody knows how to make leather hard? I have made a leather holster following the instructions in making a bag pouch sheath by Bruce Evans, but found after I dipped it in the wax mixture the wax is inside and out, which isn't good for the gun and the leather isn't as hard as store bought holsters. I found your forum through Google look for hardening leather. So far the only info that was useful was from here.I know this has nothing to do with knifes but any information would be of great help.

ghostdog
05-18-2002, 08:09 AM
Black Cloud, welcome to these forums. Got a picture of your holster?

Did you use vegetable tanned leather for your holster?

If you get the leather wet and let it dry and do it again and maybe again, the leather will harden. Don't work the leather when it is wet. Do this before you oil and wax it.
Some guys use acetone for this kind of operation because it is faster but acetone scares me so I don't touch it. I keep thinking I will try some methyl alcohol but have not done it yet.

With the oil and wax hot dip, the best thing is to drain the inside while everything is still warm. If you were to put the holster in the oven at a low heat, you could probably get most of the wax out of the holster. I would go about 180 degrees and not leave it in very long.

The wax won't hurt the gun.

ghostdog

Black Cloud
05-18-2002, 11:20 AM
ghostdog: