View Full Version : Which Mini-Mill?

tmickley
01-08-2002, 10:36 PM
I've decided I need to have a mini-mill. Any reccomendations or stories or just things to look for? I've no experience with mills (or lathes) so I haven't a clue what to look for. Any suggestions would be appreciated. Someone will tell me to get a full blown Bridgeport, that just isn't going to happen. I'm out of shop space but I figure I can sneak in a mini-mill next to my drill press.

Joe Walters
01-08-2002, 11:03 PM
I've been looking at them also. Right now I'm seriously considering the Sherline brand, primarily because there's so many accessories available. I'm shying away from the chinese imports altogether. Also there's one offered from Riverside Machine that looks pretty nice.

primos
01-09-2002, 12:03 AM
My wife bought me the one from Al Lawrence (Uncle Al) at Riverside last Christmas. It's a little variable speed workhorse, but I can't compare it to any others since I don't have any experience with them. It doesn't bog down or wander on the work. All I know how to do with it so far is mill slots for my guards and slots for mortise tang knives.

I talked to Al today. I'm supposed to drive up to his shop Thursday for a little knifemaker's gathering and he's going to give me a tutorial to help me better harness its potential.

DC KNIVES
01-09-2002, 07:43 AM
Don't have one but hope to this year.Try these sites.Dave

www.taigtools.com/ (http://www.taigtools.com/)

www.desktopmachineshop.com/index.html (http://www.desktopmachineshop.com/index.html)

Geno
01-09-2002, 10:17 AM
I have a bench top mill and love it.It doesn't take up too much room and has all the power I need.
I havn't tried a mini mill in years, they are suppose to be a lot better now, but used to be high RPM and low torque.
I can't help much with info on mini mills, but a Dremel will do many of the same tasks for a fraction of the price.
I used Dremels untill I could afford a good machine, and still use the Dremel for a lot of it.