View Full Version : liner material

KEITH
12-11-2002, 09:54 AM
I'm a newbie but thought I should post this in this forum instead of the newbie forum.
My question is...what material can be used for a folder liner?
Can you use brass, nickel silver, stainless steel?
I guess I'm trying to decide if I can use these materials because they might be easier to drill and tap than Ti. I've read many books and they often say that you will go thru alot of taps trying to tap the Ti. Is this true?
What do you guys think is a good material to use for someone with a lack of machining skills?
I'm looking at making a liner lock so the material would have to be able to perform this function too.
Thanks in advance!

oldgrinder
12-11-2002, 08:05 PM
Keith,
you can use Ti. for your lock and stainless steel on the opposing liner. as for tapping Ti., yes it's sorta a pain...maybe you could put your pocket clip on the opposing side(S.S)??...I have used Ti and S.S liners in one folder! :)
Oldgrinder

oldgrinder
12-11-2002, 08:20 PM
Keith,
Check-out the liner lock on my site...can be made with only tapping 2 holes and not in the Ti. for the pocket clip. The other holes are drilled for bolts.
Oldgrinder
www.blademan.org

KEITH
12-11-2002, 09:01 PM
Oldgrinder....wow, that's is a nice folder. I love the design.
So you screw thru the liners into a threaded 'nut' on the other side? I think I understand, that's a really good idea / design.
Thanks for you help and your time!
Love that truck too!:D
Keith

L6steel
12-11-2002, 09:10 PM