View Full Version : First Question: Soldering?

CKDadmin
12-18-2000, 11:30 PM
Archive ... When asked by members ...

As I'm working on an article on soldering for KI, I won't go into a lot of deatail, but Eutecrod 157 is one key ingredient, as well as their 682 flux. 157 flux may be ok, never used it, since 1971-ish, since I've been happy with 682. Now Staybrite must work ok, too, since many makers use it. Temp control is a major factor, watch the flux for temp. indications and of course cleanliness is important. I'd say that temp. is the biggest cause of success and failure, too hot and you have problems. OK for now? As I said, I'm new at this. I answered once and lost it after I previeved it, so this won't be previewed, what yo see, mispellings and all, is what you get! Hope this is some some help. Drop a line if yo have nay specific q's. I think, also, that PRACTICE is essential. One day, early on, I spen 8 hrs. soldering TWO guards before they were "right."

Thanks, SR

CKDadmin
12-18-2000, 11:31 PM
Archive ... cntd.
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Tom Mayo (07-14-2000 01:35 a.m.):actually....after 18 years...i finally figured out how to solder..what I want to know is how you get it finished like that....with the perfect radius etc.....do you put on a lot and use a tool to remove any excess??? how do you avoid getting flux etch on the ricasso??? how do you get such a nice finish on the solder when youre done... I want to know the REAL inside scoop here!!!
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------