View Full Version : Diff. heat treat with salts??

David R
11-23-2004, 11:02 AM
I hope this is the correct location for this thread. I've been forging and heat treating knives for about two years. I've attended the ABS intro and damascus class. I'm a part time maker. I've been researching everything I can on high temp salt setups. I feel like I have a fairly decent amateur understanding of metallurgy for bladesmiths. I sure like the idea of quality control of temps for normalizing, thermal cycling, and heating for quench.
However, I know the ABS is big on differentially heat treating. For those of you who use salts, are you full quenching and then tempering followed by drawing the spine. Or are you heating in salt prior to quench and then edge quenching? I am looking to fine tune my temps and still produce a quality differentially heat treated blade. What do you pros do? Any thoughts would be greatly appreciated.
I am mainly working with 1080, 5160, and 1080/15n20.

David Rice

David R
11-23-2004, 11:10 AM
I guess I should let you know that I currently ht with my forge by placing a round pipe in to try and even the heat and then work the blade in the pipe to get up to quenching temp. Would a pyrometer inside the "heat treating pipe" be a good alternative to salts?

Jesse Frank
11-23-2004, 12:30 PM
As far as I'm concerned, having the ability to know exactly how hot you are is paramount to getting consistant results. The pyrometer will be a necessity for either setup. :)

Ed Caffrey
11-23-2004, 03:20 PM