View Full Version : Quenching files

TexasJack
09-11-2004, 09:40 AM
I've seen 2 different opinions on quenching knives made from old files. One says oil, the other says brine. Both say not to use the other. Anybody made a knife from an old file? Which quench worked? :confused:

Also, one reference insinuated that file metals have changed over the years. Would that be the reason for 2 different quenches?

From time to time, I pick up a broken file at work or a few old ones cheap at a garage sale. No use in making a knife if I'm not going to get a good quench.

Alan L
09-11-2004, 09:47 AM
I've made a couple, both from old Nicholson files. Oil quenched both of them, and they seemed to do just fine. I treated them as if they were W-1, but the smaller one acted like 1095. Keep in mind I'm not an expert, though. :)

VSMBlades
09-11-2004, 02:22 PM
Jusr finished one from an old unmarked file. I quench tested the end before I started and when I finished I quenched in veggy oil in a cake pan right beside my forge. I have had too many crack in brine, I probably dont mix it right. "I can hold it there just a little longer........PING...... ^&%*$ " and yes that is a direct quote.

TexasJack
09-11-2004, 11:25 PM
Oh, deja vu! I've heard that same quote in my shop! Sometimes on the grinding belt, sometimes on the buffer, .......

Ed Caffrey
09-13-2004, 08:03 AM
If you stick with Nicholson files you should be in pretty good shape by using pre-heated, light viscoity oil. To my knowledge, Nicholson is the only company left that uses high carbon/alloy steel to produce their files. Eveyone else has gone with case hardening. A few years ago I had several files spectrographed.......... The regular Nicholson files came back as 1095, and the Nicholson "Black Diamond" files came back as a plain carbon steel with 1.27% carbon. The rest (Fisher, craftsman, etc) all came back as case hardened steels of various make up.