View Full Version : Design

Peacemak3r
09-25-2003, 10:02 AM
I am a CNC machinist and am interested in making my own knife. Does anyone have any tips on where I may find blueprints or ideas for design?

srjknives
09-25-2003, 04:24 PM
Not me, sorry. Hang in there, though, someone will give you some help, I'm sure.

Drac
09-25-2003, 04:53 PM
You might want to try the newbie area and the tutorials. One of the postings:

http://www.ckdforums.com/showthread.php?s=&threadid=13921

has a ton of sites, books and vidoes on the subject. There are a lot of designs on Engnath's site mentioned there. I would recommend going through a lot of the old postings, quite a few cover different design pros & cons, the latest covered the differences between flat anf convex grinds. A lot of go material there.

Look around, jump in, and welcome. I'm sure you'll enjoy your self.

Jim

BrianT
09-25-2003, 10:43 PM
Combine your imagination with your skills and I am sure you will develop a wonderful design without blueprints.

By the way, is your user name in any way reference to Colt?

Good luck
Brian

McAhron
09-26-2003, 09:56 PM
Go to the newbie arena there is a stick(post) from yesterday with a book list .many of those books have pictures and diagrams.read as much as you can .there is alot more to making knives than the metal work.wood.leather.dyes.heat treats etc.
GOOG LUCK AND WELCOME TO THE KNIFE MAKING ADDICTION

Peacemak3r
09-26-2003, 10:42 PM
Thankyou to all, I will take your advice and inspire myself, using my skills, and view the links you gave me....and yes this name is related to the Colt..lol ...Ty for the warm welcome

Tod
11-01-2003, 01:16 AM
Originally posted by Peacemak3r
I am a CNC machinist and am interested in making my own knife. Does anyone have any tips on where I may find blueprints or ideas for design?