View Full Version : Hey all,,,,,,,,

falconhawk
12-16-2002, 06:44 PM
Been on the forums for a while now but have not posted much expecially in areas that I have little knowledge, So, onwardQ

I have so questions oof some kind persons would be willing to impart thier knowledge and/or wisdom?

I was recently asked to engrave a Kersaw folding knife for a store owner. No problem so far, but I would like to have the rivits/pins out of the way. So should I persue dismantaling this knife and then fight to re-assemble it or would I be better off just leaving well enough alone?

I am planning to do some fine wire inlay to give a border to the bolsters and then some nice 'simple' engraving to add that certain touch of class to hhis knife. I can not afford to mess it up though and work needs to begin as soon as I can possibly get it done.

Thanks guys (in advance)

Falconhawk / Clyde

Tiaan
12-17-2002, 02:02 PM
You did not say which Kershaw model you have to work on. I once did some work on a Black Gulch (my own).

The bolsters and liner is a one piece job, machined, beadblasted? and anodised aluminium. I put some 1200 grit scratches on the bolsters, about four years ago, and those scratches are still brighter than the surrounding metal.

I would recommend that you tell us which knife you have to work on, and if it is in any way anodised aluminium, go at it very carefully!

Tiaan

falconhawk
12-17-2002, 03:15 PM
I have no clue as to the model. I will send a skan to Bob Sigmon and see if he will post it for me.

Falconhawk

Bob Sigmon
12-17-2002, 04:40 PM
Posting this for Falconhawk . . . .

http://www.fototime.com/074A7BF9E7C5E33/standard.jpg

http://www.fototime.com/80E7DBD3AD9FE00/standard.jpg

Very nice checkering job!

Bob Sigmon

whv
12-17-2002, 05:12 PM
(hijack on)
just noticed a new name and wanted to welcome tiaan burger to the forums!
(hijack off)

Tiaan
12-18-2002, 02:04 PM